30 things before 30

I’m trying thirty new things every day for a month before I turn 30 . . .

#1: Make a scarecrow

with 4 comments

My first scarecrow

My first scarecrow

Today I went to the National Apple Harvest Festival with my husband, his sister and her husband, and our little neice and nephew.  This event in itself doesn’t count as something new because the same group did the same thing last year at this time.  What is new, however, is that I helped the kids build a scarecrow.  I’m pretty sure I’ve never made a real scarecrow before–complete with denim and hay.  But just in case I have, I know for sure I’ve never made one in rural Pennsylvania and certainly not with such an adorable group.

Lest you be skeptical about whether this qualifies as new enough, may I also submit to you several other new things that I did:

  • Pet a pig named “Pinky” as well as a few goats, a rabbit, and a baby cow
  • Ate apple sausage, apple crisp, apple cake, an apple daquiri, and apple slices with caramel, all in the span of roughly two hours

Lessons learned:

  • You can never eat too many apple products in one day
  • Farm animals aren’t as soft as they look
  • I am allergic to hay but . . .
  • It is never a bad time to get in touch with your inner child and just do something silly and fun for the heck of it
Pinky the pig

Pinky the pig

Apple product #242 consumed

Apple product #242 consumed

Getting in touch with my inner child

Getting in touch with my inner child

Written by danamuses

October 4, 2008 at 8:11 pm

Posted in turning 30

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Wonderful! Funny! I wish I had been there…
    maybe not..people over 30 cannot consume that many apple products without side effects!

    Martha

    October 6, 2008 at 12:39 pm

  2. ahh! how cute are they. I can’t say I’ve ever made a scarecrow. But I might have to now.

    Pinky is super adorable. He was not soft?

    Kate

    October 6, 2008 at 4:19 pm

  3. the scarecrow is so cute!!

    Veronica

    October 7, 2008 at 10:18 pm

  4. No, Pinky was very rough. Kind of like petting velcro.

    danaturns30

    October 8, 2008 at 10:28 pm


Leave a Reply

