30 things before 30

I’m trying thirty new things every day for a month before I turn 30 . . .

#12: Create a life soundtrack

with 5 comments

A friend made the super-fun suggestion that I create a CD with songs representative of each year in my life.  When I went to tackle the task this evening, I didn’t really know where to start so I did a quick Web surf and in my travels came across this post by Ward Jenkins in which he describes how to build one’s “life as a soundtrack” using a simple meme.  There steps to creating such a playlist are few and easily accomplished:

  1. Open your existing music library (iTunes, iPod, other media player).
  2. Put it on shuffle and press play.
  3. For every question, type the song that’s playing.
  4. Skip to the next song and that’s the song for your next stage.
  5. Don’t lie and try to pretend you’re cool.

Now, I know this method is a bit different than my original assignment but I found coming up with 30 songs and trying to recall what might be representative of myself at age 3 just too onerous.  So, here goes.

Opening credits:
“Ageless Beauty” – Stars (Not a bad way to start a life, eh?)

Waking up:
“In a Big Country” – Big Country (A great wide-eyed song appropriate for inspiring you to get out of bed.)

First day at school:
“Breathe In” – Frou Frou (I did always get butterflies when school started each year . . . )

Falling in love:
“SOS” – Rihanna (This one made me laugh out loud.)

Breaking up:
“Love Comes Again” – DJ Tiesto & BT (You can’t make this stuff up, people.)

Prom:
“Girl” – Beck

Life’s okay:
“Saturdays” – Cut Copy (Whee!)

Mental breakdown:
“One More Robot” – The Flaming Lips (Fitting, I suppose.  “Unit three thousand twenty one is warming, makes a humming sound when its circuits duplicate emotions and a sense of coldness detaches as it tries to comfort your sadness.”  HUH?!?  I feel crazy from just the first verse.)

Driving:
“Ugly” – Bubba Sparxxx (I’d need a nice bumpin’ bass for cruisin’ to this one.)

Flashback:
“Fidelity”- Regina Spector (Well, she is “hearing all of these voices” in her mind.  Sort of like a flashback, no?)

Getting back together:
“I’ve Got it All(most)” – Modest Mouse (Nice work, shuffle!)

Wedding:
“Digital Love” – Daft Punk (This little blue machine is genius!)

Final battle:
“Just Dance” – Lady GaGa (I hope the final battle is a dance-off, preferably in a parking garage a la Michael Jackson’s “Bad.”)

Death scene:
“I’ve Had the Time of My Life” (This is starting to spook me.)

Funeral song:
“I Don’t Believe You” – The Magnetic Fields

End credits:
“Storm” – The Pharcyde

All in all, I think my soundtrack came out pretty darn great for being selected randomly.  Somehow none of my Shania Twain or Phil Collins came up.  Lucky for me.

Want to listen to my soundtrack?  Click this button to hear it:

What would your life soundtrack sound like?  Try it for yourself and post your song list in the comment form below!

Written by danamuses

October 15, 2008 at 11:20 pm

Posted in turning 30

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Opening credits:
    “An orgy of critics” – Say anything

    Waking up:
    “Sgt Pepper’s Lonely Hearts Club Band (reprise)” – The Beatles

    First day at school:
    “Andrei” – Squarepusher

    Falling in love:
    “The Reaping” – Coheed and Cambria

    Breaking up:
    “Through her eyes” – Dream Theater

    Prom:
    “Something in the way” – Nirvana

    Life’s okay:
    “Spitting Venom” – Modest Mouse

    Mental breakdown:
    “The Dance of Eternity” – Dream Theater

    Driving:
    “The Great Destroyer” – Nine Inch Nails

    Flashback:
    “Adagio”- “Various Artists”… looks like I mislabeled a CD.

    Getting back together:
    “Sin” – Nine Inch Nails

    Wedding:
    “Summer’s End” – Foo Fighters

    Final battle:
    “Dethharmonic” – Dethklok (perfect.)

    Death scene:
    “Ten Speed (of God’s Blood and Burial)” – Coheed and Cambria

    Funeral song:
    “J’aime pas l’Art” – datA

    End credits:
    “Testify” – Stevie Ray Vaughan

    Dan

    October 16, 2008 at 7:43 am

  2. […] end up being old MIDI files from the Legend of Zelda.  Seriously.  One of my co-workers posted this today, and so I thought it would be fun to do while I ate my Life.  (the cereal, no […]

  3. yay!

    ccbug

    October 16, 2008 at 2:06 pm

  4. Breathe In for ‘First day at school’ is brilliant

    Goon

    October 18, 2008 at 10:59 am

  5. […] “answer” songs in the order they’re played. I straight up stole this idea from this website. but my friend Emma took on this challenge, too. It was funny to see that, even though it was […]


Leave a Reply

