30 things before 30

I’m trying thirty new things every day for a month before I turn 30 . . .

#27: Scare yourself on Halloween

leave a comment »

Halloween used to be my favorite holiday.  But over the years my once-elaborate costumes, planned weeks or months before All Hallows Eve, have increasingly turned into slapdash efforts.  Last year I even stooped so low as to wear a purchased costume—and a chintzy one at that.  My husband, the dutiful sweetheart that he is, ran out to the costume store when he heard the dismay in my voice about the prospect of going out undressed for the occasion (I was out of town on a business trip at the time).  He called me from the chaotic shop:

A nun and a priest?

NO!

Superman and Superwoman?

You must be joking.

Ketchup and mustard . . . ?

Umm . . . alright.

And so goes the story of how I went as “MustARRd” to last year’s Halloween party (the pirate-y “arrr” accent deriving from the eye patch I threw on as a last-ditch effort to customize the outfit and spice things up a bit).

And this year?  This year we gave up completely.  I bought a 7 lb. bag of candy for trick-or-treaters, which went slowly at first; it went more quickly when my husband started giving children 4 treats each as the hour approached 8.  I tried desperately to think of one of those pun costumes that’s easy to pull together at the last minute.  But not even my desperation could make me resort to a “Freudian slip” disguise.  And so we headed out to a bar for a friend’s birthday night out . . . in jeans, t-shirts, and jackets.  Scary, I know.

Lesson learned: Next year, commence costume-making (not just costume-scheming) in August.

don't let your husband carve the jack-o-lantern without supervision.

Another lesson learned: don't let your husband carve the jack-o-lantern without supervision. I mean, nails!?! Really?!?

Written by danamuses

October 31, 2008 at 10:25 pm

Posted in turning 30

Leave a Reply

