30 things before 30

I’m trying thirty new things every day for a month before I turn 30 . . .

#29: Share a slice of the birthday pie

leave a comment »

I’m sure there have been many special November 4ths throughout history.  Two that come to mind are 1928 and 1978.  These are the respective birth years of my husband’s grandfather and myself.  I’ve never known anyone who shared my birthday before.  It is especially touching to share my day—with a separation of a mere 50 years—with such a wonderful man.

Today our family celebrated an 80th and a 30th birthday ( a few days early – less than 48 hours early, really).  The brunch get-together was a multi-generational affair:

  • 1st generation: Pop-Pop
  • 2nd generation: His daughter and son-in-law (my husband’s mom and dad)
  • 3rd generation: My husband, his sister’s husband, me
  • 4th generation: Our niece and nephew (Pop-Pop’s great grandchildren)

There is always a feeling that something really special is happening when you have so many generations in one room together.  Probably because the time span for such a thing to take place is such a short one.

The dining room table was filled with a cornucopia of food: croissants, deviled eggs, chicken salad, potato salad, fruit, lasagna, mystery Jell-o salads . . . We even had two cakes and some of us had slices of both. It was enough to fill up the biggest-bellied adult!  But the winner of the fullest tummy award goes to my nephew, who is a whopping 3 years old.  Nice work, buddy!

30!

30!

80!

80!

3!

3!

Lesson learned: Good things are even better when you share them.

Written by danamuses

November 2, 2008 at 10:08 pm

Posted in turning 30

Leave a Reply

